A Note from the Editor: To The Struggling Artist, It Doesn’t Always Have to Be a Struggle

To The Struggling Artist, It Doesn’t Always Have to Be a Struggle,

I am, in all reality, a struggling artist with a dead end day job. I am 23 years old, college graduate. I chose to build my own path to a career and achieve my definition of success. At this point I do not know if that is a good idea, or if it is going to bite me in the ass. I do not want to be 30 or so years old waiting tables to print copies of the zine. The thought alone, scares me. I am holding on to that faith that hard work will pay off and make it all totally worth it.

There are a lot of people out there, creative doers that are like me in a lot of ways. I have already sacrificed a lot for my work, and my art. It just has to work out, right? And when I say “work out”, I mean being able to eventually live comfortably as a wardrobe stylist and the editor-in-chief of masConsumption. Both of these things, opening up more opportunities for me. I want to ultimately work more in the fashion industry, film, television, the media, consulting, and at the same time writing my novel series loosely based on my life. I know want to travel a lot for work, while at the same time discovering the world. I am not sure exactly what all of this means, or where exactly I’ll end up. But that’s the fun of it honestly. Meeting new people along the way, getting to know more about my field, and getting exposed to everything.

So with all that being said, its also very scary sometimes to think about. The future can seem dark and unknown. There is a big chance that none of that can work out. I could become old and bitter and have to go back to school and hate life. Or worst, wait tables my whole life. But that is the worst case scenario. I still have faith. I guess I just want to remind all other young, struggling artists out there; who question whether or not this lifestyle will be worth it. It is. Don’t lose faith. I have this same conversation with my artist friends and collaborators. Talking with them and venting about the  need to remain a living artist, but always being broke, and is it all worth it? 

From those conversations I have learn ways to get through the struggle easier. There are things I have been doing lately that has helped me greatly:

TAKE A STEP BACK AND COUNT YOUR ACHIEVEMENTS

Right now, I am working on the summer 2o13 issue, making the blog pop, planning summer events, AND a fashion show this summer. All pretty much happening around the same time. It’s crazy. So that gives you an idea of how much stuff I usually have on my plate. I love it, it keeps me busy. And emerged in what I like to do. For the past 2 years, I have been going into over drive trying to establish myself. So for me, I have no time for rest or reflection. Its all about moving forward to the next thing. On to the next thing. Even after events or a zine release, I am always like, “how could this have been better?” “How can I push things to the next level?”  I am always thinking about the next big thing. Thats great. But it is also important to take a step back, and take note of what you have already accomplished. Think about how far you have come in the last year, or even six months? Like really think and compare where your art or career was before. That is when you start to realize that you are indeed growing. You are progressing. You are working hard, making new connections and moving forward towards success. If you stay focused, continue to work hard, and keep your mind open to new opportunities, you will grow. You are growing. There is trial and error but you gotta just do it.

masConsumption growth since June 2012:

EXPOSE YOURSELF: LISTEN TO OTHER ARTISTS’ JOURNEYS.

I do not think that anyone should compare themselves to anyone else. Especially those in the creative or entertainment industry. These industries are never black and white and there are no clear paths on how to make it big. Look to those people who have made their own path. Those who did things on their terms or created their own paths. Those are the people who have confronted their mistakes, and ultimately learned from them. Those are the people you want to emulate or at least talk to. I have learned that most times those people are not celebrities or the most well-known. They are more at a ground level. Those are the real people, who probably didn’t have a huge backing at first or probably did most of their stuff on their own. Those are also the artists that are probably the most happy, and content. Talk to those people who are willing to give back to the communities that helped them. Talk to people who do not just stay in one lane, those who do multiple things in different mediums. Also talk to people who felt like they did not achieve success, but listen to their journey and the steps that they took. Listen out for the mistakes they’ve made, you’l learn something.

SURROUND YOURSELF WITH POSITIVE PEOPLE

Your circle has a lot to do with your path to artistic/creative success. I am a person that is affected heavily by other people’s negative, and doubtful energies. I have to be around people who have a positive outlook and an open mind. I have also learned that you do not talk to everyone about your artistic endeavors, ideas or projects. Some people, just do not get it. They mean well, they support you, but you can not really talk to people about it. Most artists get that burst of creative energy and have tons of ideas, and just want to share it. You do, and that person just nods their head and says, “yeah, that’s cool”. Its nerve wracking. Sadly, I have met a lot of artists that feel alone. It is discouraging. And it makes you feel its not worth it. But it is. I am lucky enough to have an artist collective, that I collaborate with heavily and I can have those kinds of conversations with them and get genuine feedback. Go to more art events, blogs and forums! ORNG Ink is cool too!

Um, I think that is all. Just wanted to share this with those that go through that, “is being an artist worth it”? time. It can be stressful, and depression is constantly linked to living as an artist. I hope this touches someone, or motivates them. Or makes them feel a little better about their current state.

Here is what other artists had to say in the Winter 2013 issue..

Here are 5 WAYS AN ARTIST CAN PROMOTE THEMSELVES  also in the Winter 2013 issue.

Here’s to growth! Even if is gradual.

-P.R.

Leave a comment